Dr Mariela Hendriks


Dr Mariela Hendriks is a Consultant Physician in Rehabilitation Medicine. She has worked at MetroRehab Hospital since 2012. Dr Hendriks is a Consultant to the day program and has been key in establishing and running the Metro Cardiac Rehab Program. She is heavily involved in training and educating University of Sydney medical students and rehabilitation registrar program at MetroRehab and has been involved in the development and administration of Fellowship exams for the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM). Dr Hendriks is passionate about neurological and cognitive rehabilitation, orthopaedic, musculoskeletal (including amputations), geriatric and cardiac rehabilitation.

Dr Darren Lee


Dr Darren Lee has been a Consultant Physician in Rehabilitation Medicine since 2008 and is a Staff Specialist at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. He joined MetroRehab in 2009 as a Visiting Consultant to the Day Program where he will assess patients with various disabling conditions to tailor an individualised rehabilitation program. Areas of interest include neurological and stroke rehabilitation, orthopaedic and musculoskeletal rehabilitation, spasticity management, and prevention of disability arising from vascular disease.

Dr Anuka R. Parapuram


Dr Parapuram took on the role of General Rehabilitation Physician at MetroRehab in February 2008. Dr Parapuram works in both the Inpatient and Day Programs at MetroRehab and has been integral in establishing the Reconditioning inpatient and outpatient programs. She has an interest in Orthogeriatric and Cancer rehabilitation.

Dr Parapuram has a keen interest in teaching and is Joint Trainee Supervisor at MetroRehab for the AFRM Advanced Trainees. She coordinates Training of Undergraduate Medical Students from University of Sydney in their Urban Rehabilitation placements at MetroRehab and has just been made a Clinical Lecturer at University of Sydney Medical School.

Dr Parapuram has also held several Honorary Roles in the NSW Branch of the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM) and is currently a member of the Board of Assessments of the AFRM and the Clinical Exam Working Party.

Dr Helen Redmond


Dr Redmond is a rehabilitation physician who has worked at MetroRehab since 1998. She works in general rehabilitation and has a wide range of skills including stroke rehabilitation, pain management, multi-trauma, orthopaedic and aged care rehabilitation. She is qualified in spasticity management including botulinum toxin injection and heads the Spasticity Management Service at Liverpool Hospital. Of particular interest to Dr Redmond is how mind-body interactions affect recovery and rehabilitation from illness and injury. Her outside interests include bushwalking, running, Argentine Tango and voluntary work for Doctors for the Environment Australia.

Associate Professor Arun Aggarwal


Assoc. Prof Arun Aggarwal is a Neurologist and Pain specialist. He graduated from the University of Adelaide in 1987. He then went on to specialise in Neurology, Rehabilitation Medicine and Pain Medicine with 3 Fellowships from the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine and the Australasian Faculty of Pain Medicine. He is a Clinical Associate Professor through the Sydney Medical School, The University of Sydney.

Assoc. Prof Aggarwal completed his PhD in 2004 on Electrophysiological Studies in Familial Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis with his primary paper, ‘Detection of pre-clinical motor neurone loss in SOD1 mutation carriers using motor unit number estimation’ being widely cited in the international literature. He was awarded the Australian Association of Neurologists Young Investigator Award for his presentation of this paper. He is the primary author of 3 book chapters on this subject and also has over 50 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals on a number of different topics including Chronic Pain, Parkinson’s disease and Spasticity. He is on the Editorial board of a number of journals. He is the current Chairman of the ANZ Association of Neurologists Neuro-Rehabilitation Sub-Committee and on the Medical Advisory Board of Trigeminal Neuralgia Association (Australia).

Assoc. Prof Aggarwal has been a VMO at MetroRehab since 1998.

Associate Professor Ian Baguley

Assoc. Prof Baguley is a Rehabilitation Physician with particular interest in trauma and neurological rehabilitation. Assoc. Prof Baguley completed his PHD in 2008 investigating post-traumatic dysautonomia in patients who have experienced severe traumatic brain injury. In 2009, he was awarded a NHMRC post-doctoral fellowship in order to continue this research. His research into this condition has identified new treatments and developed measurement tools for the condition. He is currently chairing an international consensus panel to develop guidelines for what is now termed Paroxysmal Sympathetic Hyperactivity.

Assoc. Prof Baguley has authored four, five book chapters and written more than 70 peer reviewed original research articles. He continues to train doctors and lecture nationally and internationally on spasticity management, in particular in Botulinum Toxin injection techniques.

Assoc. Prof Baguley has treated patients at MetroRehab Hospital since February 1995 and has been a part owner of the hospital since October 2001.

Associate Professor Peter Youssef

Dr Peter Youssef is Associate Professor of Rheumatology at Sydney University and is a staff specialist at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital.

Assoc. Prof Youssef is the rheumatology subeditor of the Internal Medicine Journal, which is the journal of the College of Physicians. He is also chair of the Scientific Committee of Arthritis Australia and the Australian Scleroderma Interest Group. He has held several NHMRC research grants and currently runs a research program at Prince Alfred Hospital. He has more than 40 publications in refereed journals. He trains doctors and medical students in rheumatology and is an examiner for the College of Physicians. He is on several advisory boards and gives many national and international invited talks.